The Travels of a Living Machine

• (( This is my first try at actually writting a story so please forgive me if it isn't that great 🙂 Its a work in progress with more to come in time. hope you enjoy if you actually are bored enough to read ))

• Chapter 4

The caravan arrived into the city towards mid afternoon. The blazing heat of Lathander’s light was baring down on him harder then it had in ages while farther north in the Nars. As the caravan traveled through he road along side, feeling the slight gait of his horse as he looked about. The city was large, especially by the sizes he’d seen of late, and the classes and separation was amazingly evident. At one moment he’d see disheveled commoners in nothing but rags and with hair caked in dust skittering about hoping to find a randomly dropped coin or perhaps an unaware noble. The next you’d see a finely groomed man in a garment worth more then the one before would have in his whole life. Behind him he’d be dragging along a slave or servant of some kind, typically carrying their purchases for the market, gods forbid a Thayan noble to have to bare his own load.

As they rode on into the center of the bustling metropolis he made his rounds, nodding and saying his goodbyes and handing the kid a small bag of coins to help on his hopes of finding his uncle. He chuckled slightly to himself and those hearing it might’ve said it was a bitter chuckle, others that it may’ve been one of relief. In either way he shook his head, trying to think if such a random act of kindness was simply a weakening of his resolve, of his training, or his life as this tool and the infiltration of his new life into his work or was it possibly just part of the façade, of his character. He wasn’t sure, and after the small chuckle realized perhaps it was a question better left unanswered.