Remember Wheyn I'm Gone [Tatyana]

• [The diary is very finely bound, not only well-made but gently handled. A precious heirloom. Within, the penmanship is precise even if the spellings and formatting are self-taught. This is the diary of Tatyana Chergoba, written in Rashemi, but the first page appears to be a dedication:]

I'm sorry.

For all that I've done, all that I myght do. I'm sorry. It's all for you.

I didn't know my own parents well. If either of them hed left me a book, I wouldn't read it. Ther are meny ways that I'm a worse person. I don't shy from that fact. I'v made terrible mistakes. You suffered for it the most.

But I'm going to fix everything.

I'm writing thys so you'l know even if I'm not ther. I want to be. Believ me. I will try to be. I will hide and steal and lie and sacrifice to be there. It's not how thees things always work out. I need you to know that I tried. Before I write anything else.

Your mother tried.

She loves you.

She misses you.

Remember wheyn I'm gone. All the terribl things inside thys book, she did thos just to hold you one more time.

I could start in Immilmar. I could start with the day I buried you. I could tell you all that I have seen and done. The Shrine of Kelemvor, dragons, and demons. But I want to start with the day I knew I had a chance.

Narfell. Peltarch. The eastern swamp. I was hunting kobolds for a lyttle gold. The sun was setting. The air cooled. Theyn the snow came. The snow always reminds me I'm alive. The hunt became more about the thrill than the gold.

Befor I left the swamp, I stripped and prayed. Then the ice fell, destroying branches and the soft ground. Still I prayed. In the North Country, I learned to hang onto lyfe. I learned never to surrender. Lyfe belongs to thos who can withstand the hardships. Lyfe belongs to those who prepare for the lean months.