• Character Name: Gimlet Bearhug
    Account: Freit

"Once upon a time-"

"Not thyme! Grass!"

The bard sighed. "Once upon some grass…"

"Tell story right! Grass have snow on top. Ice, also."

"Look. You're paying me to tell your story to these people, right?"

"Yes. I pay."

"You're paying because I'm a professional. This is what I do. Trust me - this is how they like their stories here."

"Okay. You cute. I trust. Good clothes, also. Like the shiny part."

"Uh.. thank you. As I was saying... Once upon some... snow and ice, there lived a barbarian tribe called the Bearhug tribe."

"In tents."

"Yes. In a tent town. They were called the Bearhug tribe because of the way their men-folk had of fighting. They would wear a thorny chest-plate, rush into battle and grib their foes in a fatally tight embrace. The women had a little trouble with this techqnique, so they would usually trust to axes, instead. Now, one of these axe-wielding women was the young Gimlet, named after the boring tool due to the way in which she came out of her mother."

"She never stop complaining. Until she die in cattle raid. Then she stop. But shaman say she come at night, sometimes, complain to him."

"Quite. Gimlet was unusual in a number of ways. First, she was well-spoken... You're SURE about that, Miss Gimlet?"

"Yes! I best tongue-whipper in tribe! Win sacred deer haunch three times!"

"So... well-spoken, very attentive to her looks, which was quite unusual in her society..."

"I use herb ration for face color, not make-well tea. Shaman not mind... Shaman mate, she mind."

"-and she also had red hair, called 'bloodhair' by her tribe and considered an ill omen. Despite many attempts to dye it a plainer shade, she remained without a match well past the mating age. This changed rather drastically with the arrival of a half-elven paladin to the town."