Books!

• Hey, I'm new to D&D and Forgotten realms and I'm looking for books that you guys think will help improve my role play. I'm half-way through the Legacy of Drizzt and Bruenor Battlehammer was mainly my inspiration for Beourn BattleMail (hence the similar names) I just picked up The Cleric Quintet series but haven't opened the first book yet. Has anybody read any books that inspired or improved your role play? Could be anything but I'd appreciate some Forgotten Realms books for the lore.. Thank ye!

• ICC

the elf/dwarf antagonism in Tolkien was very specific and was caused by one series of occurances.

Dwarves put Silmaril into necklace for an Elf king, then get greedy and demand necklace as payment.
    Elf king says no and mocks the dwarves who then get mad and kill said king
    Elves get mad and kill most of the dwarven party
    A few escape and tell their kinsman of the elves actions (from thier own skewed viewpoint)
    Dwarven army marches on the elf kingdom and basically destroys it, taking the necklace back.
    Dwarven army is ambushed by an elf force on the way back and destroyed to a man, elves reclaim necklace.

Both races lived a long time (tolkien elves in fact being immortal as far as not dying of old age goes) and both races held the grudge for the several hundred years seperating the events in the first age and the imprisonment of Thoriin and Co.
    However their were cases of very good relations between elves and dwarves. A prime one was the elven smiths who eventually forged the rings of power had a kingdom bordering Moria, and the elves and dwarves of the two places had a very cordial relationship.