Simply Seven

• Tracing the engraved letters in the eroded wooden sign I phonetically pronounce the name aloud. “Norwick.” The sign indicates north only twenty miles ahead. My feet are soiled from the muddy path I’ve walked for…well, I have no knowledge of how long. I pull my tattered cloak over my shoulders pressing on against the heavy downpour. The cold rain weighs me down. Every freezing raindrop stings my skin directly for my soaked clothing offers no real protection save my modesty for what it’s worth. I must look an absolute wreck. Thank goodness my leather-bound prayer book of Torm is sealed away tightly in my weather-treated bag. That and a few gold coins hidden away in the lining of my misshapen cloak are all I have.

Nearing an oak tree, I crouch low allowing the tree to take the brunt of the heavy rains. My body thoroughly exhausted, I fall into a deep slumber. The warm sun heats up my pale, water soaked skin though a rash threatens to form under my damp rags. I squint towards the rising sun and make out a few figures silhouetted in the distance. A rather large form rises up behind them wielding a massive bladed weapon slicing them through easily. I sit frozen as I hear the gore hit the ground near my feet.

The large figure runs towards me weapon drawn. I chant quickly to Torm asking for his assistance and happily received his blessing as the half-orc stopped his sword short; the blade balancing near my chest. He snorts a nose bubble and sheathes his sword then walks on leaving the corpses of two Eastlander Bandits. I say a prayer over their bodies and remove their weapons so they do not cause more harm. Turning around, I see the half-orc following the path to Norwick. I tag along behind him knowing that I lack the strength to defend myself. He ignores me as I stroll quietly behind him.