Blacksmithing

• SLIDESHOW

Having been away from the server (again) for the past month or so, I thought I'd share with you all what I've been up to in that time.

On top of working a full-time job (50-55 hours/week) I began attending classes in January that now take up another 15.5 hours of my week (5 of them Saturday morning - early afternoon). As you can imagine I don't have much time for gaming these days, but I'm starting to find some over the weekends now that I'm settled into this new (exhausting) schedule.

As for what I'm studying, it's something I've dreamed of doing since I was very, very little:

Blacksmithing.

Right now I'm taking 3 classes, two of which are actual hammer and anvil instruction while the other focuses on creating art through welding. It's been a great experience. I love feeling the heat of the forge and hearing the ring of the anvil. So far it's everything I hoped. (It's also nice to be smithing by other means than smashing the "1" button).

Here's what I've made so far:

Nail

Journeyman Bracelet

Tong Clips

Towel Bar

Hook

I'll post more pics of projects as I complete them. 🙂

• I made this a few months ago and completely forgot to post it.

While it's definitely a hammer, it's referred to as a hand mallet, weighing in at 4lbs 5oz (1.95kg) (not accounting for the handle). It is not meant to be used consistently throughout work day (else you will suffer tendonitis in the long run), but super great for moving a lot of (thick) material quickly to reduce the number of heats used during a project.

For your viewing pleasure, papa hammer!

Hand Mallet

• posted here because i thought that the title is 'What You have been up to …'.

sorry for inconvenience, if there's any ...

• (EN) bought Chinese Food, telling 'Chinese Restaurant Owner' that it's for Shaolin, a Buddhist monastery, more or less …

http://itsecinreal.blogspot.com/2014/10/hayashis-journey.html .

• Well done Sir.